Driving under the influence in the Grand Canyon state can be pursued legally in couple ways. They can either catch you driving impaired by observation and you have been drinking, or you can fail a breathalyzer test and have a blood alcohol level of .08 percent or more within two hours of operating a motor vehicle.
More articles on DUI Laws in Arizona
Be very careful: you are only giving fifteen days from the time you are apprehended to ask for a Motor Vehicle Division hearing. Drunk driving is a serious offence in Arizona. You are going to need a qualified DUI lawyer to help you with this situation.
In Arizona driving under the influence is generally handled as misdemeanors, however they can be prosecuted like a felony when:
In Arizona driving under the influence cases take place with a jury of only six people, this can be waived and you have the option of going before a judge.
The punishments for driving under the influence vary in Arizona vary, it depends on what kind of driving under the influence offense you are convicted of and your criminal record.
The categories of punishments are divided depending on the following factors:
If you drive in Arizona you have consented to a blood or breath test for alcohol content to determine your blood alcohol content if you are stopped. The authority that stopped gets to choose the method used to test you.
If a driver refuses to submit to a test of their blood or breath for alcohol content, their drivers license will be taken away the period one year in Arizona for a first offense. It will be taken away for a 2 year period if this is the second time you have done this within a 5 year period of have a driving under the influence conviction.
Do take note that laws change all the time so check back frequently with this site and do not consider the information on this site legal advice. Contact a defense lawyer if you are charged with DUI in the state of Arizona.